Posted on

More Humor from the Universe

Greetings all,

The universe has a twisted sense of humor, I have always said that, and always will. Yesterday was one of those days that proved it to me. I will admit part of the joke is punishment for my own misbehaviors and for following patterns as opposed to dealing with real information.

A friend of mine is leaving the writers group & the city, as a result we had an impromptu going away party, where we all sat and drank and enjoyed her company for the last time.  By the end of the night, she was too drunk to let ride a bus home, so I drove her to the other side of town.  My reward for this act of selflessness, I didn’t get home until almost 2 am.   For those that don’t know, I have a contract job this week, which requires me to be out of bed at 5:30 am.

Fast forward a few hours later in the day, when my sleep deprivation hang over is at full tilt and most of my filters are off.  I get a call from a job recruiter reminding me I am 10 minutes late to my phone interview which I had forgotten about.   I dial in and have a brutal interview because my exhausted state. I try to funny, I get the techie bits right – but I also think that they are done with me and this opportunity is closing. Of course just to add insult to injury, about 5 minutes before the end of the interview my phone starts to ‘break up’ [the interviews words not mine] I know it’s because another recruiter is calling me.

After the interview – an email pops to my inbox, I take a quick look and the subject is EKMUU, a short story I submitted again (13th try). This can only mean one thing; the anthology that I submitted my story into has rejected it.

Before I can process that failure, my phone rings AGAIN! – it’s the first recruiter calling about the interview I just finished.  I apologize to her for my poor performance, and hope she will keep looking for me.

She laughed at me, turns out she was calling to tell me that the company was so impressed, they want a face to face meeting next week, and after I slip up and mention the other recruiter, they want the meeting on Monday!.

I grab my celebratory beer and as I take a sweet long pull, a thought in the back of my head starts catches my attention.  The email labeled Ekmuu – it has an attachment. Why ? What would be the point of sending me back my story ? The first thought “because they hate it so much they don’t want it on their server” is quickly replaced by the beer enhanced thought “there is NO scenario that they would send back the file”

Curious I go read the email –

EKMUU has been accepted by FEY Publishing for “Horrors of History” Anthology

I am not sure if the universe is punishing me for drinking with a sleep deprived state or rewarding me for not letting my friend ride the bus home drunk. Either way, plenty of good news.

About rbdavis5

I'm me. If I ever find myself I will either update you or call the authorities (depending of how much of a reward there is)

One response to “More Humor from the Universe

  1. Sounds like it’s have fun at your expense before giving you a reward.

Leave a Reply

