Posted on

My first day on the phone

Hello my miscrents,

Now that I have completed training, I am now an official phone drone. Yes, if you are one of the many field techs and you can’t get your question resolved except by calling layer two support, you get to talk to me.

My first day on phones has been ‘interesting’  the que is set to hit me, then my coworkers, in order of when we were hired.  Sadly I am the lowest man on the totem pole, and the most experienced person is in the cubicle across from me, with order to stay off the phone, and help with all my calls.

The first two calls were exceedingly simple (Move an AD object from 1 folder to another, it’s like cutting and pasting a document, but because it’s in AD only a level 2 support monkey (Ie me) is able to do so.  The next call was “I have 4 pieces of ancient tech that used to work but now don’t” gave that one to my ‘mentor’ and he has been working for the last 45 minutes on it.  The next call was “we are from the merged company, and having support problems”  that one had to go to the person second in seniority and once again after 20 minutes, he took the call and I was back in que answering.

Needless to say,  I am looking at the switch board, and feeling more like a receptionist,  all of my ‘advance & experienced’ coworkers are on psychotic bizarre phone calls all of which bounced off of me.  I am doing the rest of the simple ones, but at this point, without a net.

Somehow the first day I am on the phones, and we are being overrun with WTF phone calls.

I think the universe is welcoming me back to the world of the working!

About rbdavis5

I'm me. If I ever find myself I will either update you or call the authorities (depending of how much of a reward there is)

One response to “My first day on the phone

  1. Don’t feel bad, I was hit on my first day on the phones by myself with the most difficult call and task that will ever happen. I thought at least I will be prepared now and everything else will be less. Nope, yesterday I got another difficult one that no one had ever heard of…it’s just me. I get the weird ones. Be glad you get the simple ones, at least for a little while longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

